Balsamic Roasted Veg Stir Fry

2sm7smWelcome to Cooking by Proxy, my newly created blog where I will be sharing my recipes, recommendations and reviews on all things vegan. This blog has been in my mind for some time now and following my return from an incredible trip around Europe, where I happened to sample some beautiful food, I finally decided to bite the bullet and write it.

So a little about me… I’m a 20 something year old woman who has been vegan for the past 10 years, and vegetarian for 10 years prior to that. I love food; from healthy salads, soups and pasta dishes to smoothies, desserts and cakes. There is little vegan food that I won’t try and I’m a firm believer that a vegan can eat just as well as anybody else; so expect a variety of dishes!

I will be posting fairly regularly and will be organising some features to appear periodically. My first feature – Vegan in… will review restaurants, cafés and eateries where I’ve enjoyed a good vegan meal both at home and abroad, and hopefully make life a bit easier for vegans planning a trip away.

So onto today’s recipe! Some days I want nothing more than a quick meal – time is short, I’m in a rush and stir fry is the perfect dish. And some days I just want to eat stir fry; regardless of the preparation time. I love stir fry… I love roasted veg… I love balsamic vinegar… so I’m pretty darn sure I’m going to enjoy a combination of all three!

For my first recipe on Cooking by Proxy, I’m giving you the meal I go back to time and time again. It’s simple, tasty and yes! I was making it anyway. Perfect for a light dinner on its own (I ate the entire pan full), this main would go perfectly with some marinated tofu or rice.

Steps

(full recipe instructions at the bottom of the page)

2smPrepare and roast the veg at 220c/425f for 30 minutes.

3smCreate ribbons from your courgette/zucchini, season and allow to drain.

5bsmPrepare the veg for the stir fry and cook over a high heat for 5 minutes.

8smAdd the roasted veg to the stir fry, stir to combine, season and serve.

1csmEnjoy!

Balsamic Roasted Veg Stir Fry

  • Servings: 1-2
  • Time: 35mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

Roasted Veg

  • 1 onion – sliced into wedges
  • 1 bell pepper – chopped into chunks 
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms – quartered
  • 1 cup cauliflower – small florets or cut into chunks

 Roasted Veg Marinade

  • 1 tbsp (15ml) soy sauce – I used light/reduced salt
  • 1 tbsp 2 tsp (25ml) balsamic vinegar
  • 3 cloves of garlic – crushed
  • 2 tsp (10ml) olive oil
  • 1 tsp dried parsley
  • black pepper

Stir Fry

  • 1 (160g) courgette/zucchini – sliced into ribbons or noodles
  • 1 cup (100g) bean sprouts
  • 1 cup (100g) white and green cabbage – shredded
  • 1/2 cup (25g) carrot – grated
  • 2 tsp (10ml) olive oil
  • 1 tbsp 2 tsp (25ml) balsamic vinegar
  • black pepper

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 220c/425f.
  2. Prepare the onion, bell pepper, mushrooms and cauliflower and arrange in a foil lined tray.
  3. Mix together the ingredients for the Roasted Veg Marinade in a small bowl (I was quite liberal with the black pepper!) and pour over the prepared veg. Shake or stir to make sure it’s well covered and pop it in the oven for 30 minutes.
  4. While the veg is roasting, prepare the courgette/zucchini using a spiralizer or vegetable peeler to make ribbons or noodles. Place in a colander, season with black pepper and allow to drain.
  5. Prepare the cabbage and carrots for the Stir Fry.
  6. When the Roasted Veg has been in the oven for 25 minutes; heat the olive oil in a wok, add the balsamic vinegar and throw in the courgette/zucchini, bean sprouts, cabbage and carrot. Cook on high heat for 5 minutes.
  7. Add the Roasted Veg and its marinade to the Stir Fry, give it a quick stir to mix, season with black pepper to taste and serve immediately.
  8. Enjoy!

6sm

Leave a Reply

